Skip to content

A Beachy Kind of Mothers Day

May 9, 2011

Yesterday was Mothers Day, and I had a nice one. No fanfare, just an excuse to relax and do what I wanted. We decided to get off the merry-go-round and spend the afternoon at the beach. The combination of perfect weather, water, and company made the afternoon feel like sinking into the most comfy, cozy down feather-bed with nothing to do but relax with a good book. We visited under our beach umbrellas, swam in the ocean, and were content. To top off the day we had dinner at a casual restaurant requiring no reservations where beach attire and flip flops were the norm.

These are some of my favorite kinds of days, so spending Mothers Day this way is ideal and something I look forward to. I was also surprised with a very cool gift from my son. Paddle board lessons! He likes to surf, and I went out with him once with little success. While at the beach one day I saw a person standing on a board and paddling. I excitedly called to find out what the heck this was, and said I was intrigued. Now I will be trying it out soon! I plan to go after I’m well under way with my training for the half marathon so I am feeling fit and ready to take on a new sport!

It was a good day.

No comments yet

Leave a comment